What's On

Choice of Hercules & Bach Magnificat

Choice of Hercules & Bach Magnificat

Adrian Butterfield conducts the London Handel Orchestra, Pegasus choir and a stellar line-up of soloists in this glorious baroque programme. Handel’s rarely heard one-act oratorio The Choice of Hercules HWV 69 was first performed in 1751, relatively late in the composer’s career, and tells the story of the choice Hercules must make between Pleasure and Virtue. Our programme also includes music by Handel’s contemporary – Johann Sebastian Bach – his Violin Concerto in A minor BWV 1041 and popular Magnificat.

Adrian Butterfield conductor
London Handel Orchestra
Pegasus Choir
Joanne Lunn soprano, Virtue
Anna Dennis soprano, Pleasure
Patrick Terry* countertenor, Hercules
Laurence Kilsby tenor, Attendant on Pleasure
Will Thomas* bass

*Finalists in the 2019 Handel Singing Competition

Ticket Prices: £35, £30, £25, £10, £8 reserved seating

This performance starts at 7.30pm (doors open at 7pm) and will finish at c9.45pm with a 20 minute interval