What's On

The Chandos Anthems

The Chandos Anthems

London Handel Festival Associate Musical Director Adrian Butterfield conducts this special anniversary celebration of the first performance of Handel’s Chandos Anthems in the venue for which they were composed and in which they were first heard. 



Soprano: Grace Davidson

Tenor: Nicholas Mulroy 

Bass: Edward Grint  

Conductor: Adrian Butterfield

London Handel Orchestra 


Chandos Anthem No. 1 ‘O be joyful in the Lord’ HWV 246 

Chandos Anthem No. 9 ‘O praise the Lord with one consent’ HWV 254 

Chandos Anthem No. 3 ‘Have mercy upon me’ HWV 248 

Chandos Anthem No. 11 ‘Let God arise’ HWV 256a

Written during Handel’s time as composer in residence for the Duke of Chandos, the Chandos Anthems portray a more spiritual side to him not often heard in his larger, more theatrical works. 

Principal members of the London Handel Orchestra are joined by a wonderful ensemble of singers for this performance in one of London’s most beautiful churches.

In addition to the performance, ticket holders have the opportunity to dive deeper into the life of Handel during this period with a tour of St Lawrence.  See ticket info for more details. 


Tickets: £30 (unreserved seating)

Please note the £40 tickets which include a tour of St Lawrence’s have now sold out.


Booking Dates

Monday 21 November: tickets on sale to Major Donors and Director’s Circle
Wednesday 23 November: tickets on sale to Gold Patrons
Friday 25 November: tickets on sale to Patron’s Circle
Monday 28 November: tickets on sale to Festival Benefactors
Wednesday 30th November: tickets on sale to Associate Benefactors
Friday 2 December: tickets on sale to Friends
Monday 5 December: tickets on sale to General public

You may also like